What are the components of consent?


Dr KK Aggarwal and Ms Ira Gupta    07 March 2018

Consent has three components as follows: Disclosure, capacity and voluntariness.

  1. Disclosure: This refers to the provision of relevant information by the clinician and its comprehension by the patient.
  2. Capacity: This refers to the patient’s ability to understand the relevant information and to appreciate those consequences of his or her decision that might reasonably be foreseen.
  3. Voluntariness: This refers to the patient’s right to come to a decision freely, without force, coercion or manipulation.

To comment on this article,
create a free account.

Sign Up to instantly get access to 10000+ Articles & 1000+ Cases

Already registered?

Login Now

Most Popular Articles

News and Updates

eMediNexus provides latest updates on medical news, medical case studies from India. In-depth medical case studies and research designed for doctors and healthcare professionals.