What are the components of consent?


eMediNexus    02 February 2023

Consent has three components: Disclosure, capacity and voluntariness.


  • Disclosure: This pertains to the provision of relevant information by the clinician and its understanding by the patient.
  • Capacity: This refers to the patient’s ability to understand the information provided to him/her and to appreciate the consequences of his/her decision that might reasonably be foreseen.
  • Voluntariness: This signifies the patient’s right to arrive at a decision freely, without force, coercion or manipulation.

To comment on this article,
create a free account.

Sign Up to instantly get access to 10000+ Articles & 1000+ Cases

Already registered?

Login Now

Most Popular Articles

News and Updates

eMediNexus provides latest updates on medical news, medical case studies from India. In-depth medical case studies and research designed for doctors and healthcare professionals.